Voting for the BBC Women's Footballer of the Year 2022 is now open.

Fans from across the world can vote for their favourite from the five-player shortlist of Sam Kerr, Beth Mead, Alexandra Popp, Alexia Putellas and Wendie Renard.

The award started in 2015 and previous winners include Asisat Oshoala, Vivianne Miedema, Lucy Bronze, Kim Little and Ada Hegerberg.

Voting closes at 09:00 BST (08:00 GMT) on 12 October and the winner of the award will be announced on 9 November on BBC World Service and the BBC Sport website.

The five contenders for the BBC World Service accolade were chosen by a panel of experts, including coaches, players, administrators and journalists.

It was another standout season in 2021-22 for the 29-year-old, who helped Chelsea win the FA Cup and a historic third consecutive Women's Super League title.

Her 20 goals in 20 league games saw her collect her second Golden Boot - one of many individual awards for the Australian.

Kerr was named the PFA's Players' Player of the Year, Chelsea's player of the season, the Football Writers' Association Women's Footballer of the Year and even scored the goal of the season against Manchester United on the final day.

Kerr, who was top scorer at the 2022 Women's Asian Cup, became Australia's all-time top scorer in January by surpassing Tim Cahill's record of 50.